Days 2 & 3, Spring 2011 is white hot!

The countdown to a Fashion Night Out when I get to participate is finally down to zero. Next year when September 9 or 10 comes around, I will be out enjoying the festivities rather than sitting in Waco reading all about it on my twitter feed. I can’t wait!

Jason Wu
The wide-legged trouser and short predominated Wu’s spring/summer 2011 collection, which I can best describe as a day and night collection. Smart geek-chic suits and day dresses complemented by a smattering of evening and cocktail dresses.
BCBG Max Azria
Simplicity ruled at BCBG, which was all about pushing boundaries this time last year with alluring cutouts and sheer. For spring/summer 2011 the dresses are mostly white, airy and almost nymph-like. I like the dramatic shift in point of view.

Jill Stuart
Natural makeup with a dramatic red lip. Hair in a messy bun. The style.com reviewer used the phrase “whimsical romance” to describe Stuart’s new collection. I would add that there are very obvious and quaint pastoral influences. All in all it’s a remarkably pleasant collection. It doesn’t push the envelope, but isn’t off-putting either. I rather like it.
Alexander Wang
Another designer who took a departure from their last spring collection into the white. After hearing all about the carnival at his party, I half expected A Wang’s collection to be much more lively. Albeit, there are metallics and pastels splashed on this collection. All of this was fine, but the chunky knits for spring left me scratching my head. I think I much preferred last year’s schoolyard-inspired line. I did like the shoes, though!
Prabal Gurung
The long skirt returneth. Unlike the Voluminous A-lines inspired by the 1950s for this fall, Prabal Gurung practices planned obsolescence by bringing the skirt closer to the leg. The mid-calf length was also seen on the trousers in this collection, perhaps something to take note of in other collections.

Leave a comment

Filed under Designers, Fashion Week, Spring, Summer

Leave a Reply

