The happiest time of the year

On yesterday’s first day of NYFW, I got the treat of reading the Thursday Styles section in the NYT (which has always been available to me on campus, but this year it is available in the journalism department, an oversight in past years that has been rectified). The entire section did a wonderful job of both amping my excitement and instigating my jealousy that I could barely focus on class. This one article really made me wish I was there on the upper west side in the middle of all the action: Marshaling Fashion’s Troops.

In recent years fashion week has brought the elite and everyone else closer with the use of Twitter, bloggers and a smattering of live streaming now enters the next realm with far more live streaming than last season. Too bad I was in class all day and couldn’t partake, le sigh. Without further ado, here I go reviewing what I missed because I was sitting in a desk taking notes all day.

Christian Siriano
I’m always impressed with the air of sophistication that comes with Christian’s collections. I know with Christian that I can always expect refined looks in a controlled color story with luxe materials. Spring/summer 2011 did a fantastic job of incorporating subtle ruffles into most designs. However, I do feel like every one of his collections has an evening dress in almost the same silhouette, this time it was look 38. Still stunning and remarkable, but now it’s come to be expected. One thing I also expect – but love! – is how Christian’s last few looks always up the drama.

Richard Chai Love
Clicking through this collection on style.com (how great is it that ads are on the side and don’t interrupt clicking through the images anymore?!) I felt a strong middle eastern influence with the billowing layers and slouchiness, like Jasmine’s wardrobe if Disney had a fashion illustrator on the animation team. However, with the number of sheer pieces, which were stunning, any woman wearing a burqa in this style would be shot dead in her tracks. Another reason being Richard Chai’s layers highlight a woman’s chest, which keeping it completely underwraps. It’s kind of genius.

Vena Cava
Color blocking and a slightly country take on tribal is the best way I can describe this collection from Vena Cava. The color blocking is down extremely well, so that the pieces from this line will be highly covetable, but it looks as though some pieces might not work for women with hips. Those looks are best left on the models (who even look a little hippy strutting them).

I’m really excited for this particular round of fashion weeks because I can’t wait to see how my forecasting project from last semester is going to pan out. I already see small hints of my forecast coming out and I can’t wait for more!

Leave a comment

Filed under Designers, Fashion Week, Spring, Summer

Leave a Reply

