The real world


Since I start my senior year at Baylor on Monday, the real world is starting to seem a lot scarier than just a tired reality show. And with so many of my close friends already there, mostly unemployed, I’m shaking in my boots. But, I’m trying to stay positive…

It’s no secret that I did some freelancing this summer (links to published stories are at the bottom of this post!). After getting more bylines than I originally anticipated – thanks Stephanie and Jenny! – I decided to invest some of the money in my future. Since I’ll be going on interviews for my spring internship and then interning at a great magazine and then, hopefully, interviewing for a real job, I need a business/professional handbag. As a college student my all of my handbags are either tiny bags perfect for going out (they can carry my phone, chapstick, keys, cards and little else) or giant totes that can carry my laptop and spirals for class. Neither really says “I’m ready for a salaried position on your magazine.”

This large leather satchel from Ann Taylor, however, means business. The leather is soft and supple. The turn latch clicks when you switch it. And it’s spacious enough for just what I need – no more and no less. When I’m in an interview I think this handbag will speak volumes without stealing the show. I think one of my favorite things about it is the lack of designer label. There is not a single identifying name or set of initials that would tip someone off as to how much I dropped on it. And it’s about to be mine; I bought it online yesterday and can’t wait for it to arrive at my apartment. Because I might have an interview with one of my favorite magazines to look forward to in the near future, and I want to make sure I don’t have the wrong bag in tow to give off the wrong opinion.

My freelance articles:
Grapevine teen designs and sells her own jewelry line
Back to school looks that make the grade

Leave a comment

Filed under Accesssories, Magazines

Leave a Reply

