Prudence Millinery and SATC

I’m home and glad to be. Back in the country where I don’t have to pay for wifi (at least not where I sleep), I don’t get charged close to $5 for a drink with my meal and where one dollar is a note, not a coin. And because of that first reason, I now have time to post more blogs (all together now: yay!) about my trip and the general things I would post about anyway.

But back to my European excursion. In London we met with Prudence, of Prudence Millinery. She makes couture hats and is often commissioned by designers when they want couture hats for their collections. Prudence has done hats for Vivienne Westwood and Yves Saint Laurent. She also designs freelance for magazines and works with other designers when they seek her expertise. Her hats are featured most often in Italian Vogue, Chinese Vogue and Japanese Vogue as well as French Elle. The above image is actually Prudence’s first magazine cover, Italian Vogue in 1990 with Linda Evangelista (currently the face of Ann Taylor).

While hats don’t seem to be the current fashion obsession, some would argue that Sex and the City is. So in the spirit of all things SATC (because let’s face it, my blog seems to be dedicated to it of late), I thought it would be fun to mention that Prudence’s hats have been in both the first and second movie. In the first movie I am so far only aware that her hats were featured in the Vivienne Westwood show the four leading ladies attend. One of our guides, a personal friend of Prudence’s, told us a story I presume she was too humble to share. Sam told us that Pat Fields came into her showroom to see hats and just ate them up, taking loads of them with her for the SATC2 wardrobe. Having now seen the new release, since I’m back in the states and all, I noticed how many hats the women wore. Being in Abu Dhabi (ahem, Morocco) and wanting to have the ladies don some fancy headdresses to fit in with the culture, there were more than a few hats. All of them stunning in their own way. Here’s a still from the film where all four women have something fetching on their head. I can’t help but imagine that these are the products of Prudence’s handiwork. Especially after having seen how varied her talent is and the range of her millinery abilities.

On an almost complete side note: after seeing SATC2 I no longer feel bad about my desire for a sapphire instead of the traditional diamond. Big gave Carrie a black diamond because she’s not like other girls. Well neither am I, because I don’t care to sport a diamond when I find the right guy. I’ll buck tradition just a little.

Leave a comment

Filed under Accesssories, Designers, SATC

Leave a Reply

