NYFW Fall 2010 Day 1

Where to start?! So much has happened just since this morning!

First off, it’s only right to pay tribute to Alexander McQueen. He is a brilliant designer who will live on in his clothes and inspirations. It is only fitting that the shows this season are dedicated to him and I so wish that I could be in all of the tents to see how designers pay him homage. But I’ll only have reports that fashion journalists present me… so do me right! For a full report by this fashion journalist follow my link (which doesn’t exist because our campus paper ran a wire story instead of mine).

And now to present my ADD: how fab does Julianne Moore look for Bvlgari? I’m a good 96% positive that it was inspired by the Grande Odalisque painting by Ingres.

It’s just another one of my favorite things: fashion imitating art. I get a little giddy when I see something like this. I saw the ad when I got on the style.com fashion show page so that I could catch up on today’s shows and get to the point with this post! So with no further ado…

BCBG Max Azria
I instantly thought “Miranda Hobbes Brady from the Sex and the City movie.” This collection echos the way Pat Fields styled Cynthia Nixon for the flick with the color blocking, draping and use of belts. I’m loving the men’s trouser, subtly-highlighted shoulders and the white/opaque tights. I already can’t wait for next fall! Plus the silhouette on every look was very elongated, which I don’t attribute to the long and lean model bodies walking the clothes down the runway.

Vena Cava
The high-waisted, floaty-hemmed  culotte shorts just moved to the top of my wardrobe wish-list for fall 2010 – so stylish and, as the collection showed, pretty versatile! Fishnets are cool and so are sunglasses. A mostly neutral collection with pops of metallic and gentle color, and here we come chunky necklaces. Also the black turtleneck as a layering staple, I dig it.

Yeah, kind of a slow-ish day show wise, but heavy on emotion and focus elsewhere. Now I have a fashion forecasting paper to research for Monday, so off I go!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fashion Week

Leave a Reply

